top of page
  • People Driven CU

Courtney Griffin

The availability of a proper education is something every child is entitled to and every parent wants to provide. Learning the essentials at a young age makes a major difference in how far one goes in school as well as how much a person excels in their education and kids with autism are no different. Children with autism often need a specific learning environment and style at a young age, different from that of a regular school. Having this opportunity to attend an institution designed to cater to their direct needs makes a world of difference for their future.


During this summer I am doing an un-paid internship with the Great Lakes Center for Autism Treatment and Research. For the duration of the summer I will be working at several of their facilities for twenty-six hours a week for my psychology practicum. I chose to work with children because there’s nothing like watching a child grow and develop into everything they can be and I want to be a part of that. The Great Lakes Center is truly a hidden treasure because there are not many institutions like it, especially in Michigan. The children have the opportunity to receive one on one instruction using the teaching style most beneficial to those on the autism spectrum.


The goal for me and all the volunteers there is for the kids to progress and learn as much as we can teach them. The environment is designed to be as much like a regular classroom as possible, while still providing the necessary learning method, so that the kids feel like they’re at any other school. Although I have not been there long enough to see this for myself, some of my favorite stories to hear from other workers are about the kids who have moved on to regular schools and are doing great. Most of the kids I will be working with are preschool to kindergarten age but the facility works with adolescents as well, so getting them prepared for mainstream schooling is one of the ultimate goals for the institution.


As I am currently still in training, I have only been with the kids while shadowing the sites supervisor and am very excited to get started. I will get a chance to help plan their activities and get to know the kids individually. Spending one on one time with the kids is what I’m looking forward to the most. While shadowing I’ve seen kids do things they’ve never done before and surprise their instructors and it’s such a great feeling. Progress of any kind is celebrated in an institution like this and that makes for a very positive and happy environment. Of course like anything else there are obstacles and incidents but when you look into the face of those kids it’s all worth it. The smiles and excitement in their own accomplishments is the best part, even if usually the instructor is more excited than they are.


Places like the Great Lakes Center are not in very common and I’m very grateful my school was able to connect me with them. This summer will be an experience I’ll never forget and a great way to head into my final semester. Children with autism deserve the best opportunity possible to show how bright and amazing they are just like any other child, all they need are people willing and patient enough to help them and I’m proud to be one of those people. In closing I would like to challenge you to always use the phrase, “a child with autism” rather than “autistic child”, because autism is not who they are simply a disorder they have.


Courtney Griffin - $1,000 Scholarship Winner - Senior Western Michigan University

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page